Post-Race Let-down

Have you ever experienced a post-race let-down?

You know the phenomenon that occurs when you’ve put-in all the hard work, long hours and extreme effort it takes to train for your  “A” race, be it a marathon, triathlon, ultramarathon or an Ironman? You work so hard for so long and your life literally revolves around the achievement of that BHAG (big, hairy, audacious goal) and once you’ve achieved it you wander around aimlessly, decide that you don’t want to workout because you hate running (or biking or swimming) anyway? You start packing-on the pounds because you continue to eat the same way you did when you were running 50-70 miles/wk? This funk just surrounds you wherever you go and you might even say that you’re depressed?

Have you ever experienced it during your taper?

I’ve been conspicuously absent from blogging, dailymile, etc. for this reason. I’m totally depressed, I’m putting on weight and I just don;t want to run anymore. Not another step. Every workout is sheer torture. My head is just not in the game. Don’t get me wrong, I’m getting totally psyched for the Vermont 50. I’m pretty sure I’m ready to run. I’ve certainly put-in the miles (780 of them), I’ve run a lot of those on trails and hills and all of my tune-up races have been mountain races, so I think I’m good. I’m confident that I will finish. In fact, I can’t wait. It would just better if I didn’t have to run anymore.

My taper has gone horribly. I’ve put-off, moved and skipped workouts entirely. I’ve had to drag myself out the door. And I’ve been constantly reminding myself why I’m doing this. Every other taper I’ve put myself through has been quite the opposite. I’ve been raring to go. In all my other tapers, I’ve had to work hard at keeping the horses in the stable, I’ve been chomping at the bit trying NOT to run harder and faster or more often than the training plan called for. This time I don’t even want to get out of bed, let alone out the door. Hopefully this is a good sign. I dunno.

Has anything like this ever happened to you? How did you perform on race day? Should I be worried?

There is no tomorrow. Go out and GET  it today!

Doug

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post-Race Let-down

  1. Maybe it’s a bit late to offer this up, but I just did a post yesterday on how to turn the taper from a negative into a positive by focusing on how to invest the one asset you have more of – time.
    http://predawnrunner.com/2011/09/treating-taper-opportunity-invest/

    Hang in there, the real post-race letdown is right around the corner.

  2. i’m officially in my post-race letdown. I had to be talked off the ledge by my coach yesterday. I have no motivation to train and I am mentally and physically exhausted. I feel your pain Doug but you are going to get through the A-Race and enjoy the high then the real let down will set in. Best wishes this weekend! ROCK IT like I know you will 🙂

  3. How are you feeling now? Sometimes, taper can bring with it the exact symptoms you are discussing. Usually, they will go away. And, on race day, the excitement of the day will carry you through. You are going to have a GREAT weekend. Can’t wait to read about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

